Pregnancy Feet

So, every mom everywhere has probably already figured this one out, but…. pregnancy takes foooooooooooooooooooooooooorEVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER.  Seriously.  I’ll be the first to admit that I am probably one of the most impatient people that ever walked the earth.  As a result, I have been dying to meet our second little daughter pretty much since she was conceived.  At 36 weeks and 1 day pregnant (yes, every day counts here, folks!) it’s amazing how far away our due date still feels.

It’s probably obnoxious for me to complain since my pregnancies have both treated me pretty decently.  I definitely experienced some nausea during the first trimesters, but some women throw up on a daily basis and I only did that a few times.  My 2nd trimesters were pretty great both times around.  Third trimesters included no sleeping, constantly going pee, leg cramps throughout the night (they were way worse last time though), and just general discomfort.  None of these symptoms are way out of the ordinary though and again, I’ve heard much worse stories.

One thing that does get especially draining is my feet.  I don’t experience swelling, but they just start to ACHE by the end of the day (okay, they ache all day long).  This extra weight and keeping a very energetic toddler busy all day just does a number on them.  Sometimes I actually look down to see if they are still there because they feel like they’re falling off.  The bottoms of my feet just feel painful.  I still force myself to fight through it and walk a few miles each day with Abby (I regret it if I don’t do that.  She goes NUTS in our little apartment! haha)  The level of intensity will sort of come and go, so it’s not always super painful, but still not incredibly pleasant.

Here’s where I want to praise my wonderful husband.  EVERY. SINGLE. NIGHT. of my third trimester, he has given me a foot massage before bed.  Every night!  He is just so awesome!  I am pretty sure that every day I dream about my foot massage at least 15-20 times and it is always amazing.  It not only finally eases the numbness and pain, but it helps me relax so I can actually fall asleep for a little while before another trip to the bathroom! ha!  I really do believe he’s the most incredible guy I have ever met.  He has a true servant’s heart and inspires me to ask the Lord to increase my heart for others.

One thought on “Pregnancy Feet

Leave a Reply

