Last Week of Pregnancy (I hope)

As I enter my 39th week of carrying a baby, I’m definitely ready to be done.  Having my little daughter grow and develop inside of me is truly awesome, but it’s not necessarily enjoyable.  I started thinking today how much the end of pregnancy resembles Christ returning.  I have no idea when it’s going to happen, but I know it’s going to be soon.  I have spent a lot of time preparing for the birth of our second daughter.  My husband and I chose a name for her, I cleaned and organized her clothes/diapers (yes, I’m a cloth diaper junkie), we readied her crib, I have been staying on top of cleaning the apartment since I know I won’t have time/energy for such things for at least a month after baby arrives, and I have been furiously stashing freezer meals for after she’s here – which is really interesting when you consider we have one of the smallest freezers possible….  ohhhh apartment life.

Similarly, Christ wants us to prepare for His coming – in a bigger, higher priority kind of way.  The more we truly believe He’s returning, the more likely we are to ready ourselves and share the news with others.  Repentance is one of the biggest ways we can prepare ourselves for His coming.  Humbly and prayerfully we should acknowledge the sin in our lives and with the Holy Spirit’s help continually put self to death.

We are so very excited to meet our little one and have been anticipating her birth for months now.  We talk with Abby about her little sister on a daily basis to help her understand what’s happening.  Whenever it’s time for us to head to the hospital, we don’t want Abby to be caught off guard and unaware of what’s going on.  Isn’t it so much more important that we, our family, friends & people around us aren’t caught unaware when Christ makes His return?  This isn’t going to be like an eviction notice.  You won’t receive a month’s notice for the end of this earth.  Instead, we should be pouring our efforts into reaching and preparing the lost right now before it’s too late for them.  Are you ready?  Let’s pray for an increased sense of urgency in this area!

Matthew 24:40-44

“Two men will be in the field; one will be taken and the other left.  Two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left.  Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come.  But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into.  So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”

Leave a Reply

