Blueberry Breakfast Cake

This recipe definitely includes more butter and sugar than my usual meals, but the taste is so worth it!  Normally, I would whip up a bowl of stove top oatmeal with some type of fruit in it for myself and Abby during the week.  While this really only requires about 7 minutes of uninterrupted time, it’s been a bit more challenging to get meals on the table with our new baby Evie. 🙂  I love this blueberry cake recipe because I can bake it the night before (after Abby is in bed and Caleb is home to watch Evelyn haha) and we have instant breakfast for at least 3 or 4 days!  Taste wise, I would describe it as the most delicious blueberry muffin ever.  To make myself feel better about all the butter and sugar, I usually cut down at least a TINY bit on the sugar and I’ve slowly been increasing the amount of whole wheat flour I sub in.  And of course, I throw in a few extra blueberries because they are just delicious.  In fact, that is the best part about this recipe – it is LOADED with blueberries! 🙂  Thanks to Alexandra for this tasty dish!Buttermilk Blueberry Cake

Blueberry Breakfast Cake

  • 1 stick of butter softened
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 7/8 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup + 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups (plus more if you want!!) blueberries – I often use frozen when they’re cheaper
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (I usually don’t have this on hand, so I just use the handy dandy 1 tablespoon lemon juice mixed with 1 cup milk trick.  Let it sit at least 5 minutes and use what you need)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Cream butter, lemon juice and 7/8 cup sugar (I usually use a fork for this).  Beat in egg and vanilla.

Toss blueberries with 1/4 cup all purpose flour (I use a fork for this too) and set aside.

Mix together 1 cup all purpose flour, 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, baking powder and salt.  Add to the butter mixture a little at a time, alternating with your 1/2 cup of buttermilk.  Once combined, fold in your blueberries.  The batter will be really thick.  Grease a 9″ square baking pan and spread batter inside.  Sprinkle with 1 tablespoon of sugar and bake 35-45 minutes or done.  I normally have to bake this quite a bit longer, but we also have issues with our apartment oven.  Just bake it until a knife comes out clean and you’ll be good to go!  This is super yummy so if you make it the night before for breakfast…. be ready to taste test it early. 😉Buttermilk Blueberry Cake1

One thought on “Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Leave a Reply

