Cheesy Ham & Potato Crock-Pot Soup

I enjoy finding/creating new recipes and I enjoy cooking….. mainly because I really enjoy eating!!  This is great, but usually results in me overdoing it a tad.  Just take a look at this picture!  By the time it was ready to eat, it barely fit in the crock-pot!!  I tell ya….  Does this happen to anyone else??  You start out thinking you could use a smaller piece of cookware and by the time you’re done you’re wondering why on earth you didn’t choose something about ten times bigger?!  (Unfortunately I don’t actually own a larger crock-pot)  Cheesy Ham & Potato Crock-Pot Soup

Okay, so I came up with this recipe the other day when I wanted soup but didn’t want to bank on having oodles of time available in the later afternoon.  (Having an almost month old baby and a two year old going berserk towards meal times means I have a more successful day when I plan in advance 😉 haha)  This soup is absolutely loaded with potatoes.  The liquid consistency is on the thinner side which Caleb really likes.  I usually prefer a thicker, more chowder-like soup, but this was definitely tasty for something different.

You may notice I never include cooking times for my recipes.  Good observation!  I don’t list them because I don’t time myself and depending on what kitchen appliances you have available, cutting up veggies, etc. can take totally varying amounts of time!  Also, it is a pet peeve of mine when recipes say they take, say… 15 minutes of prep time and after it’s almost supper time you realize the ingredient list says things like, “4 gallons of diced potatoes, 7 cups of sliced carrots,” and “6 finely chopped onions.”  Seriously??  Any recipe sounds fast when you put it that way….

That being said, there is a decent amount of chopping and dicing involved in this recipe.  I think that’s the case for most filling soups, so plan things out accordingly!  Sometimes I even like to do the cutting the night before, put it in the crock-pot with the lid and throw it in the fridge.  The following morning, when I get half a minute, I pull it out, finish preparations and start ‘er up!  I love crock-pot meals because I can worry about them when things are less stressful in the morning (I don’t know why, but later afternoon always seems to get more hectic around here).

Cheesy Ham & Potato Crock-Pot Soup

  • 4-5 large baking potatoes cubed
  • 2 cups carrots slicedCheesy Ham & Potato Crock-Pot Soup1
  • 1-2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 1/2 cups turkey-ham diced
  • 6 cups water
  • 6 teaspoons chicken granules
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 generous teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 cups milk
  • 3-4 cups grated cheddar cheese (You could also just use a chunk of Velveeta if that’s handier.  That will get it nice and creamy.  I just wanted to try cheddar this time.)

Place potatoes, carrots, corn, onion, turkey-ham, water, chicken granules and seasonings into crock-pot.  Turn on low and cook for about 7 hours or until veggies are tender.  Optional: take a few cups of veggies out, mash them up, and return to crock-pot for a slightly thicker soup.

Melt butter in saucepan over low heat.  Whisk in flour, stirring over low heat 1-2 minutes.  Gradually whisk in your milk and continue whisking until nice and thickened (I always use an actual whisk for this as it gets it nice and smooth).  Take off the heat and stir into the crock-pot mixture.

Add cheese to crock-pot and stir until melted.  Serve with these awesome biscuits for a winner meal!

Scoop out a bowl of soup and try to wait for it to cool so you don’t burn your tongue shoveling it in – trust me, even though it’s pretty delicious, it’s just not worth it. 😉

One thought on “Cheesy Ham & Potato Crock-Pot Soup

Leave a Reply

