Whole Wheat Dough

I officially love this dough recipe and use it for a million different things (only a slight exaggeration)!!  Of course, the classic way I use it is for pizza. 🙂  The best part is that it makes enough for 3 large pizzas.  The whole wheat dough makes it nice and filling, so one pizza usually lasts our family 2 1/2 meals.  I’ll give you the recipe provided by Taste of Home (only slightly tweaked by me, because I love seasonings) and then try to give you a few ways to use it!

Whole Wheat Dough

  • 3 packages quick-rise yeast (1/4 ounce each)*
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 – 3 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour

*If you go through yeast as quickly as I do, you might use the jar kind.  To save you the trouble of figuring it out, 3 packages is equal to 4 1/2 teaspoons.

Mix yeast, sugar, salt, Italian seasoning, garlic powder and whole wheat flour in a large bowl and set aside.

In a saucepan, heat olive oil and water to 120°-130°.  Stir into dry ingredient mix.  Add in enough white whole wheat flour to form a soft dough.  (I usually stir in 3 cups at this point and slowly add probably an entire cup more while kneading)

Turn onto a floured surface and knead 6-8 minutes, until smooth and elastic.  Place in a bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let rest for about 10 minutes.

Punch dough down and divide into whatever portions you want.  If you’re using it for pizzas, divide into 3 equal sections.  You can cook up a pizza right away, put it in the fridge overnight or freeze it for up to a month.  To cook a pizza, preheat oven to 450 and bake around 12 minutes or lightly browned.  We usually do longer because that’s how we like it.

Okay, some of my favorites…. I have three different go-to pizzas we enjoy.  My normal version includes pizza sauce, pepperoni, diced turkey-ham, 1 lb cooked Italian sausage, diced onions, diced bell peppers, frozen corn (Don’t hate it until you try it!  We had some friends from back in Iowa introduce us to this lovely idea and we never eat it without now!  Thanks, Beth & Jacob!) and of course cheeeeese!  I usually do cheddar and mozzarella since that’s what we typically have on hand.  My philosophy, of course, is to load the pizza dough with as much as you possibly can so it lasts longer. haha Pizza

My next style is Breakfast Pizza!  I always make this sometime after we have had biscuits and gravy, because I’m TELLING YOU, the secret to awesome breakfast pizza is using sausage biscuit gravy for the sauce!  It is literally to die for amazing.  You douse the dough with sausage biscuit gravy, throw on a ton of scrambled eggs, bacon bits, turkey-ham, corn (yup, again…), peppers, onions and cheese.  This is really tasty and fulfills my desire for Casey’s breakfast pizza at least in part – ha!Breakfast Pizza

Last, but not least, Chicken & Broccoli Alfredo Pizza!  This one follows a night of Chicken Alfredo (A recipe I must share with you sometime soon, as it is quite delicious!) because, oh yes!, the secret sauce here is homemade Alfredo!  A generous helping of sauce, topped with cooked & shredded (hopefully seasoned) chicken, diced turkey-ham, bacon bits, thawed broccoli and lots of cheese is a pretty tasty way to decorate the dough!  Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo Pizza

Those are my favorite pizzas to make – did you notice a trend with plenty of meat?  I enjoy eating hearty….  Other options to whip up with this dough include Calzones, Breakfast Pockets, Baked Mozzarella Mini Bread Sticks, and whatever else you can think of…..  This recipe is one of my all time favs!  I know some people aren’t into the whole-wheat taste, but I honestly think after it’s loaded down with toppings, you might forget to notice.  So, get up and go give ‘er a try!Breakfast PocketCalzoneCalzone2

Leave a Reply

