French Dip Sandwiches

This is one of those winner pulled meat sandwich recipes that I can’t get enough of.  Hate me or not, I’m really not into the barbeque flavored pulled meats.  I think it has to do with eating it way too frequently at 90% of large gatherings (graduation parties, various receptions, funerals, family reunions, you name it, they serve it).  I can eat it, but I can’t love it.  This, however, has all the glory of being incredibly easy along with the delight of tasting GOOD! In other news, I love using my crock-pot.  It’s wonderful in every season and it always makes me feel like I’m majorly winning at supper time (because I AM!).  What is better than getting a million things accomplished (that have nothing to do with cooking) up until the moment everyone wants to eat?!  Exactly.  If I could use my crock-pot every day, I would.

French Dip SandwichesSlow Cooker French Dip Sandwiches

  • 1 beef chuck roast (3lb)
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon crushed rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • Buns or rolls for serving

Place roast in crock-pot.  Pour broth and seasonings over roast.  Cover and cook on high 5-6 hours or until tender.  Remove meat from broth and shred with forks.  If you want to use the broth for dipping, strain it, skim fat, and pour broth into small cups for dipping.  Serve beef on buns/rolls.  We like having these with cheesy potato soup, mostly because I enjoy dipping my sandwich in the soup instead of the broth.

Leave a Reply

