Grandma’s Ham

One of my dearest memories of Easter is Grandma’s ham.  I remember when we were younger, my older brother and I would try to starve ourselves until lunch time on Easter so we could eat extra large helpings (sad, but true…).  He wanted to make room for Mom’s cheesecake pumpkin pies, and I wanted to devour Grandma’s ham.  And by ‘devour,’ I actually mean I wished I could eat the entire ham.  It is that good.

The ham would usually be removed from the oven about 15-30 minutes before we were allowed to start eating so it could cool off or something silly.  I was usually sneaking pieces about 5 seconds after it hit the table though.  Grandma would swat my hands and yell at me, but I would just keep coming back for more!  We used the classic Styrofoam plates with six sections and mine usually had four sections overflowing with ham (hey, I needed to save a couple for the desserts!).

I always thought her ham must be ridiculously time consuming because it is so good!  However, I was craving it so badly last summer that I had to call her up and ask for the recipe anyway.  Lo and behold, it is actually super simple!  Even though Grandma doesn’t use exact measurements for this recipe, she gave me her best guesses and it turned out pretty tasty.  I love that it makes a humongous amount.  This ham is D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S all on its own, but the leftovers make easy sandwiches, go well in soups, and can be used in just about any recipe ever.  I usually find ways to use about half of the meat and freeze the other half.

Grandma’s HamGrandma's Ham1

  • 3 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons honey mustard
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • butt portion of ham
  • baking bag

Combine water, mustard, and sugar and bring to a boil in a sauce pan.  Shake a little flour around in your baking bag and then place ham inside (you can get baking bags from Wal-mart by the aluminum foil) and set it in a roasting pan (I just used a 9×13 baking dish and it worked great.  Pour the mustard mixture over the ham and seal bag according to instructions.  Make sure you cut a few slits in the top of the bag to allow steam out.  Bake as directed on ham packaging or a little longer.

The baking bag works sort of like a crock-pot and allows the ham to really seep up the flavor.  It also makes clean up super easy.Grandma's Ham

Leave a Reply

