Happy Resurrection Sunday!

Happy Easter Girls1On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,
The emblem of suffering and shame;
And I love that old cross where the Dearest and Best
For a world of lost sinners was slain.Happy Easter Girls3

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,Happy Easter Girl1
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it someday for a crown.

Oh, that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
Has a wondrous attraction for me;
For the dear Lamb of God left His glory above
To bear it to dark Calvary.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it someday for a crown.

Happy Easter GirlIn that old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,
A wondrous beauty I see,
For ’twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,
To pardon and sanctify me.

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,
Till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
And exchange it someday for a crown.

To the old rugged cross I will ever be true;
Its shame and reproach gladly bear;
Then He’ll call me someday to my home far away,
Where His glory forever I’ll share. – George BennardHappy Easter Girl with Daddy

Happy Easter Egg Lunch1In addition to explaining the true meaning of Easter to our two year old, we had to fit in a little hunting excitement.  Abby enjoyed finding her lunch in a dozen colorful eggs!  Lunch consisted of frozen peas, frozen corn, Colby-Jack cheese pieces, pepperoni, brownie-bottom cheesecake topped with cookie dough!, raisins, corn chips, pineapple, green pepper, grapes, turkey-ham, and hard salami.  Her method was to select an egg, open & dump it on her plate, eat every piece up, and then pick another egg to open.  I think her favorites were the pepperoni and salami.  Abby managed to down everything except for a few raisins, which she finished off later in the day.  Daddy seemed a little disappointed that his lunch wasn’t hiding in eggs too.Happy Easter Egg Lunch

After quiet time, Daddy hid ten more eggs – each with one whole jellybean inside (okay, so we don’t overdo the candy thing around here…. haha)!  Daddy doesn’t just scatter eggs around in the grass…  Some of them were pretty tricky to find!Finding Easter Eggs

Abby loved every minute of it.  Long after her egg filler had been eaten she was busy double (triple?) checking to make sure there weren’t any left.Finding Easter Eggs1Finding Easter Eggs2

Of course I had to enjoy matching outfits for my girlies.  And who could resist making cute little bunnies out of these two?!Easter Bunnies

Whoa!  What did Mom put on our heads?!Easter Bunnies1

Easter BunnyI mean…. could there be a little bunny cuter than this?Easter Bunny1

Leave a Reply

