Flank Steak & Broccoli

I’m just going to go ahead and start this out by saying, I LOVE CHINESE FOOD!  It has been one of my loves since early childhood – since I was first exposed to its wonderfulness.  Chinese food featuring chicken?  That’s tasty stuff.  Chinese food featuring beef flank steak and broccoli?  It’s definitely one of my top ten meals ever!!  I had two servings for supper and ever since I finished cleaning up, I keep thinking about how much I want thirds….  There’s no way I’m going to make it through typing up this recipe and drooling over the pictures without giving in, is there? *sigh*  Abby loved this as much as her Mama and scarfed up her entire bowlful!  That a girl! 🙂

I could absolutely eat this every week for the rest of my life, but beef flank steak isn’t cheap and although Caleb enjoyed it tonight, he would probably get tired of it that often.  He just recommended an apple so I could refrain from eating the leftovers and regretting it tomorrow at lunchtime……

It seems to have worked.  I’m confident I can now finish this up without snitching thirds.  Here we go!

Beef Flank Steak & Broccoli

– Meat Marinade (prep at least an hour before cooking)Beef with broccoli stir fry

  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons water
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 3/4 pound beef flank steak thinly sliced

Pour everything but the meat into a large Ziploc bag, seal, and mush it around with your hands until well combined.  Add meat (remember to reseal the bag!) and shake it around until each piece is coated.  Place bag in fridge for at least an hour prior to supper preparation.

*Hint! If you’re planning to serve this over brown rice, start cooking it now!

– Cooking Sauce

  • 3/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon chicken granules
  • 1/4 teaspoon powdered ginger

Stir everything together in a small bowl until smooth.  Set aside.

– Veggie Stir Fry

  • about 20 ounces frozen broccoli florets
  • *4-5 carrots peeled
  • 1-2 bell peppers diced
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons + 1 tablespoon olive oil

*I use a potato peeler for my carrots.  It sounds funny, but works very well!

Saute veggies in 2 1/2 tablespoons oil until tender.  I usually start with the broccoli, then add the carrots, and finally throw in the peppers for just a couple minutes.  That way everything gets done together.

While your veggies are cooking, go ahead and start your meat.  Saute in 1 tablespoon oil and 1/2 of the cooking sauce mixture until no longer pink and cooked through.

Combine your cooked meat, veggies and the remaining cooking sauce.  Cook 1 minute or until heated through.  Serve over brown rice or noodles and try SO hard not to eat the entire thing, but don’t fight the urge for seconds.  This recipe is edited from Rainy Day Gal!Chinese flank steak stir fry

Leave a Reply

