Spaghetti & Meatballs

This is probably going to sound pretty sad, but today was my first time ever making this classic dish!  I know, I know…. what?!  Maybe it was because I didn’t grow up eating it.  We always had spaghetti with a beefy meat sauce which gives you a similar taste without the work of forming meatballs.  Whatever the case, I am pretty sure the first time I ate meatballs in my spaghetti was at college (good ol’ baked spaghetti from Sufficient Grounds at Bethel… haha).

The recipe I used is anything but complicated.  It’s actually from Kraft, although I “cheated” (aka “won”) and used off-brand parmesan because that’s how I roll.

Spaghetti & MeatballsIMG_2696a

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1/3 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 (24 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce
  • shredded mozzarella cheese for topping

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix the first six ingredients (it works best with your hands) and shape into roughly 18 meatballs.  I like to have a small bowl of water nearby.  If you dip your hands in the water after every couple meatballs, it really keeps the mixture from sticking all over you and makes the process much quicker!

Place the meatballs onto a couple of greased pans and bake about 15 minutes or done (heated to 160ºF).

While your meatballs are in the oven, cook your spaghetti and heat up the sauce.

Stir your cooked meatballs into the sauce and serve over spaghetti noodles.  Top with shredded mozzarella cheese!  We’ll definitely be repeating this meal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

