Farm Counting Clip-it

Farm Counting Clip-it 2This is one of my favorite preschool math activities!  I loved making it too.  The original idea came from 1 + 1 + 1 = 1 where I’ve found a lot of great stuff!  I had to make my own cards, because that’s what I do…..  I wanted farm themed and something deep inside me really needed those number 8’s to have perfectly round circles too.  Regardless, this is a fun one! 🙂

Farm Counting Clip-it 1Farm Counting Clip-it

Officially, the child is supposed to use a clothespin and after counting how many objects, they clip it onto the correct number.

Farm Counting Clip-it 4

However, according to my 2 1/2 year old, “They’re kind of tricky.”  Aka, she hasn’t quite mastered the clothespin opening and clipping life skill.  Because I’d rather have her stay interested in the activity and have fun with it at the same time, we try clothespin clipping for one or two cards.  Then, we get to pull out the marble manipulatives!  Yay!Farm Counting Clip-it 3

Farm Counting Clip-it 6Farm Counting Clip-it 5

We love this activity for reinforcing number recognition and counting practice!  Abby can independently do cards 1-5, but loves working on the rest with me.  I’m looking forward to expanding this activity with cards 11-20 once we reach that level. 🙂

Farm Counting Clip-it 7

Leave a Reply

