Spicy Parmesan Shrimp Penne

This is one of those awesome dishes I found on Pinterest that is ACTUALLY fast and delicious!  No kidding.  I’ve mentioned before how there are very few meal options I will consider repeating before 2 or 3 months pass by.  We were scarfing this up for supper and I actually found myself wondering if it would be too soon if I made it again later next week…..  I think that was partly because I probably should have doubled everything for a longer lasting meal! haha  Thanks, Chungah for the idea!Spicy Parmesan Shrimp Penne

Spicy Parmesan Shrimp Penne

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 heaping tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 lb medium shrimp, peeled, deveined, & thawed
  • 1/3 cup onion diced
  • 13 ounces whole wheat penne
  • salt & pepper to taste

In a bowl, whisk together olive oil, parmesan, garlic, brown sugar, soy sauce, & red pepper flakes.  Pour into a gallon sized ziploc bag.  Pour water into the bowl and swish it around to collect all the yummies that didn’t make it out.  Add water mixture to your ziploc bag.  Rinse off your shrimp and pull the hard tails off.  Add shrimp to the ziploc bag and turn it around to coat the shrimp.  Put in the fridge to marinate until needed. You can prepare the shrimp the night before if you’d like, earlier the day of, or if you didn’t plan enough in advance (like me), it really does work great to simply do this step prior to noodle preparation. 🙂

Cook noodles according to package directions.  When the noodles are a couple minutes away from being done, dump the onions and contents of your shrimp bag into a skillet, season with salt & pepper, and saute for a few minutes or until lightly pink.  I added just a tablespoon or so of water to the empty ziploc bag and swished it around before adding it to my skillet as well.  This way I got all the tasty goodness into my pan!  Drain penne and toss with shrimp concoction.  Serve warm with parmesan sprinkled on top!

Leave a Reply

