Cheesy Ham, Chicken, and Potato Casserole

My laptop has had a lot of personal issues the past few months, but it really decided to throw me for a loop tonight….  my “e” and “w” keys are officially out of order.  As in, I am copying and pasting every single time I use either of those letters.  Ya….  If it looks like I’m trying to avoid using “w”, it’s because I am.  Copying and pasting one letter is doable, but bouncing between two is a bit of a nightmare.  My keyboard is having a serious identity crisis and yet I’m writing not one, but two blog posts tonight.  I must be a special kind of crazy at the moment.  Or maybe this casserole is so absolutely delicious that I can’t bear waiting to let you try it!

I could have quite possibly inhaled the entire pan of this, but I exercised my little friend, self-control, and shared it.  This is most definitely a top 5 favorite casserole dish and is more than worth an attempt with those picky casserole haters you know.  This could change their minds forever.  There are so many of my favorite ingredients in here!  Ham…. chicken…… cheese…. more please!  This is edited from Six Sisters Stuff.

Cheesy Ham, Chicken, and Potato Casserole

  • Chicken, Ham, and Cheesy Potato Casserole5 – 6 large baking potatoes thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 – 3 cups diced turkey ham
  • 4 – 5 frozen boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • poultry seasoning
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese divided

Earlier in your day, throw the chicken in your crock-pot, heavily shake poultry seasoning all over it, cover and cook on high 4-5 hours or low 6-7 hours or cooked through.  Shred and sprinkle with salt to taste.

Boil potatoes until fork tender.  As your potatoes are cooking, melt butter in a saucepan, add in flour and blend with a whisk.  Gradually pour in milk, whisking constantly until smooth.  Add in onion powder, garlic salt, and some black pepper.  Continue stirring until liquid becomes thicker and reaches desired creamy consistency.

Grease a 9 x 13″ baking dish.  Spread a thin layer of the creamy sauce over the bottom of the dish.  Top with half of the potatoes, ham, chicken, and 1 cup of cheese.  Repeat and top with sauce.  Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes or cheese is nice and melty.  SO. SO. GOOD.

Cheesy Ham, Chicken, and Potato Bake

Leave a Reply

