All Aboard – Abigail is Three!!!

Abby Joy

Abs has been very excited about Thomas the Train for a few months and wanted to have a Thomas themed birthday party.  We’ve never gone too crazy for birthdays, but I thought it might be fun to try a little excitement for once.  Plus, I mean…. this kid makes the cutest train engineer I have ever seen!

Abby Joy3Abby Joy2

My little sweet pea was more than willing to help me get things ready for her party.  She wanted a chocolate Thomas cake, so that’s what I attempted!

Chocolate Birthday Cake!

I was satisfied with the outcome since this is now my 2nd ever decorated cake – Evelyn’s one year old cake being my first!

Thomas the Train Birthday CakeThomas Birthday Girl

Abby enjoyed helping with our railroad themed sugar cookies – yummy!  The main thing to remember while eating sugar cookies is to focus on the taste.  The main thing to forget is what you put in them.  Otherwise, your delicious, savory bite starts to taste more like a stick of butter and a cup of sugar ground together.  So…. they aren’t overly healthy, but this the first time I’ve made them since Abby came along!  Live a little – right?

Cookie CutterFrosting CookiesRailroad Cookies

I borrowed the engine from my Mom’s old Fisher Price train set and added four cars.  The dairy car had cheese cubes, the coal car had black seedless grapes, the produce car had celery, carrots, and pepper slices, and the lumber car had honey pretzel sticks.

Coal CarProduce CarLumber Car

This birthday banner was definitely unnecessary but I love making things like this, so I mostly made it out of personal enjoyment/relaxation in a couple evenings beforehand.

Train Birthday Banner

For a Thomas party, what else would we drink but blue Thomas punch?!  This was really easy, just a container of blue Hawaiian punch, a 2 liter of lemon lime soda, and a 46 ounce can of pineapple juice.  You mix them all together and add ice.  About half of the recipe fit in a large bowl, and that’s all I ended up making.

Thomas Punch

Homemade ice cream was probably my favorite part. 🙂

Homemade Ice CreamHomemade Ice Cream2

This was also unnecessary, but something fun for the kiddies….  I found these super cute wooden trains at Hobby Lobby (love that store) and of course had to get them for the kids to paint.  Abby was loving this and probably would have sat there all day if I hadn’t cut her off eventually.

Wooden Train Painting

Abby had a lot of fun and enjoyed having her very own birthday party.  She was kind of disappointed that she had to pick between cake and ice cream OR a cookie, but she went with the better option (ice cream and cake).  Don’t worry – she got a cookie the next day and as I predicted really only wanted to lick the frosting off.  She has been furiously working on her new Thomas puzzle and almost has it mastered.

Thomas Puzzle

 

 

One thought on “All Aboard – Abigail is Three!!!

Leave a Reply

