Blueberry Oatmeal Bars

These probably sound healthier than they are.  While they do have an awesome amount of blueberries and oats in them, they also are pretty loaded with sugar and butter.  This was my first time making them, and I stuck with the recipe.  Next time, I’d like to try subbing one stick of butter with applesauce and cutting back on the sugar because it was definitely not lacking in sweetness.  The girls loved these and I thought they were close to something really awesome – they just were a bit too sweet for me to completely love them.  I’ll update this if I ever attempt my changes and am happy with the results.

IMG_2889IMG_2895

This recipe came from Delightful E Made and is fast and easy!  It also has made a very quick breakfast option for the girls all week, which is a major plus in my book and the main reason I’m posting this for everyone!

IMG_2898

I had the best helpers with these bars.  They were excited about them from start to finish. 🙂

IMG_2908

Blueberry Oatmeal BarsIMG_2913

  • 2 1/2 cups oats
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 3 1/2 cups blueberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine oats, flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and slat.  Mix in the butter.  Press 2/3 of the mixture into a 9 x 13″ baking dish.  Reserve the rest for topping.  In a separate bowl, coat the blueberries with sugar and cornstarch.  Dump blueberries over the crust.  Crumble reserved topping over the blueberries and bake 20-25 minutes or golden brown.  Let cool completely prior to cutting.  I stored mine in the freezer, so they’d last longer.

IMG_2911

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Oatmeal Bars

Leave a Reply

