Progress!!

It’s been about a month and a half of (almost) nightly running for me now.  I have mostly worked through the ingrown toenail “fun.”  On the bummer side of things, I’ve been experiencing a lot of knee pain lately.  It can be pretty rough some times, but I have still been making myself get out there and run around a mile each night.

I’ve cut out ice cream and a lot of other sweets.  I still allow myself a little pile of M&M’s with almonds at quiet time, because I need something to get me through the day.  It’s kind of a good thing for me because if I eat my sweet snack in the afternoon, then I know I have to prioritize running that night to make up for it. haha

The good news is….  I have officially lost ten pounds since beginning to run!!  That feels like really slow progress, but it is still progress.  I have about 12 more pounds to shed to get to my goal weight.  I hope losing the pounds doesn’t become even harder at any point, but I guess I will find out!  My goal weight isn’t the very smallest I have ever been, but 3 babies later and in the middle of nursing, I tried to come up with something realistic that I would be happy with.

In addition to running, I’ve been doing a small amount of strengthening/toning exercises like push-ups (the knee kind haha) and some different weight work-outs for my arms.  I’ve also rekindled my daily dose of homegrown keifer.  I really did love drinking it every day in the past, but I had to take a break from it after being pregnant with Evelyn.  I drank it during my morning sickness with her (really bad idea) and I couldn’t even think about it for the next couple of years afterwards without getting sick to my stomach.  I hate that you can ruin things for yourself during pregnancy! haha  I don’t know if I will ever be able to love steak the way I once did or enjoy Hy-vee take out Chinese again. 😦  Sad.

Leave a Reply

