Lovely Lasagna

Traditional Lasagna

I like lasagna because it makes a giant pan and lasts for a couple meals.  My oldest thinks I’m out to get her when I make this, because apparently making someone eat noodles smothered in delicious sauce, savory sausage, and gooey cheese is unkind.  *sigh*  Can’t win ’em all!  In spite of her opinion, trust me when I say this recipe is pretty amazing.  I think the sausage is what makes it taste one step above most lasagnas I’ve sampled.  I changed it up a tad, but thanks to Taste of Home for this one!

Lovely LasagnaLasagna

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 pound pork sausage
  • 3 cans (8 oz each) tomato sauce + 3/4 can water
  • 2 cans (6 oz each) tomato paste
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 4 cups (32 oz) 4% small curd cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 10 lasagna noodles cooked/drained
  • shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese

I usually start by getting my noodles cooking.  Then, brown your meats together.  Once they are browned, add in tomato sauce + water, tomato paste, garlic, and seasonings.  Stir and bring to a boil.  Cook and stir until it’s the consistency you want.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs.  Mix in oregano, cottage cheese, and parmesan cheese.  Preheat your oven to 375.

I don’t like spending an hour making fifty cute layers with lasagna, so I do the minimal.  If layering is your thing, feel free to spend the time making it cute.  I dump half the meat sauce in the bottom of a 9 x 13″ baking dish.  I halve the noodles and layer half of them around on top of the meat.  Dump half the cheese mixture on top of that and spread it around with the back of a spoon.  Sprinkle cheddar and mozzarella on top of that (I didn’t measure what I used, but probably around 2 cups?).  Repeat with remaining ingredients.  Cover with aluminum foil and pop in the oven for 50 minutes.  Uncover and bake about 15 more minutes or cheese starts to brown on top.

The Best Lasagna

Save

Leave a Reply

