Evelyn’s Truck Birthday Party

Evie has been determined to have a truck themed birthday for the past few months.  We have three daughters and they pick trains and trucks.  Come on now, girls!  Give me a little pink and purple frills to work with! haha

I made some very etsy copied truck birthday invites, because it was fun.

invite

Since Evelyn’s actual birthday was on a Friday this year, we decided to have her party the following day.  I’ll begin with an account of her actual birthday, followed by party festivities.

We started the day off right with breakfast shakes!  It’s a good day for Evelyn when she gets to eat a meal via straw.

breakfast-shake

Lamby needed something to drink too.

feeding-lamby

I sure do love my little two year old!!!!!!!!!!

mama-and-the-birthday-girlmama-and-me

Evie had a couple presents sitting on the table all day, waiting for her to open when Daddy got home.  I asked her, “Who do you think those presents are for??”  And she answered in wonder, “I on’t oooh!?” (I don’t know)  It’s been quite a while since we had any presents around, so she didn’t quite grasp the idea that there was something fun inside.  Abby was more impatient waiting for present time than Evelyn was.  Abby helped me wrap them and did a great job keeping everything secret from Evie.

bday-girl-c-resize

The big two year old!!  She’s always sure to find the best sticks out in our yard.  Totally not a danger hazard at all in her hands…..

bday-girl-bbday-girl-a

There were some extra trucks from the pack I got for cake decorating.  Evie put those to good use.

trucks

Finally Daddy got home from work and it was present time!  Abby jumped in to help a bit with the opening.

present-time

present

When we had asked Evie prior to her birthday what she was hoping for, her response was always, “I wan’ eggs!  And pizza!!  And ice cream!”  We were planning pizza and ice cream for party day, so the girl got eggs for supper on her birthday.  Chowing down on some turkey bacon.

eggs-for-dinner

After supper, we went for our routine evening walk.  We have to enjoy every chance we get at this point!  I asked Evelyn how she felt about being two now and this was her response.  Fair enough.

evening-walkevening-waaaaaalk

Our pony and calf (not so much anymore) friends were right by the fence to wish Evie a happy birthday of course.

ponyyyponyypony

It was a pretty perfect day to turn two.

sistersbday-babe

**********************************************************************************************

Alright, birthday party time!  I was really excited to make Evie’s truck cake, inspired by some ideas I’d found on pinterest of course.  As I was setting out each cake decorating item, Evie kept exclaiming, “Thank you, Mama!  Thank you!” haha  I used yellow paper and electrical tape to cover a cookie sheet “construction truck” style.

truck-cake-b

The cake was your basic chocolate devil’s food cake box mix. haha  I wasn’t planning to decorate a cake AND make one from scratch.  I had frosted with the bottom layer a couple days ago.  I put on a second layer of chocolate frosting right before decorating.  First, I stuck alternating yellow and orange Reese’s Pieces around the edge.

truck-cake-bac

Then, a row of crushed Oreo cookies – frosting removed – was the “dirt” on top.  I realized later that I should have tried to put them on around a two shape, vs. coating the whole top and then trying to scrape them off the two.  That got a little sketchy.  The cake kept trying to pull up and make a disaster.  I had to refrost the two for it to even show up and that was incredibly tricky with Oreo crumbs trying to stick all over.  It was a mess for a while there, but eventually I got ‘er done.  After placing a few “dee-gars” around, the cake was finished!!  Other then Caleb thinking I had made a “Z shape” on top the cake (come on now….) it turned out perfectly.

truck-cake-a

These traffic light treats were brownies with M&M’s frosted on top.

traffic-light-brownies-5

traffic-light-brownies

The girls enjoyed some pre-party balloon fun.  Elly was laughing so hard about all the balloons flying around!

party-time-bparty-time-a

My birthday girl was digging being two.

bday-girl-k-resize

There were a lot of helpers making homemade ice cream for the evening.

ice-cream-a

ice-cream-b

ice-cream-c

ice-cream-d

ice-cream-e

They were especially available during the taste testing. haha

ice-cream-fice-cream-g

ice-cream-h

The kids all enjoyed playing in the yard before supper.

johnny-d

johnny-e-resize

elly-and-emmy-resize

It was great to see this cute little brother of mine.  He is totally Opie Taylor’s look alike, right?!?  SO adorable.  He even mowed our yard.

johnny-c-resizejohnny-b-resize

johnny-a-resizejohnny-resize

We had a demolition site, complete with a wrecking ball.  The wrecking ball was a balloon filled with sand, wrapped in duct tape and hung by twine.  Evelyn was loving this, and cracked up laughing after she knocked over the boxes.  I just wrapped the boxes in packing paper with “bricks” drawn on.

wrecking-ball-awrecking-ball-e

wrecking-ball-b

I was in a hurry and had a little dumb-dumb moment with my wrecking ball prep.  I blew the balloon up, got a funnel spout in the opening, and dumped some sand in, hoping it would somehow empty in even though it was full of air.  Well, that turned out awesome.  The sand was just sort of sitting in the funnel and although I started realizing this was a really bad idea, I gave it a little poke…. still hoping it would seep in there somehow.  It seeped a little bit and then POOF!!!  It exploded out into my face.  Hindsight is 20/20.  I know.  You’re thinking it’s a bummer no one was documenting that moment with the camera.

wrecking-ball-f

wrecking-ball-c

wrecking-ball-d

Evie needed a tutu, just because, so I made her the only kind I could – an elastic band with tulle knotted around it. haha  I thought it was amazing because I can’t sew at all and it was something you could wear that I made myself.  Don’t laugh too hard.

bday-girl-ibday-girl-g-resize

bday-girl-h-resize

This is how she was showing everyone how old she was.  Holding up two fingers on one hand was a little too tricky.

bday-girl-j-resize

Two days of birthday festivities was starting to wear Evie out.  It’s hard to handle that much attention!

bday-girl-f

Birthday truck decor I made, inspired by (or completely copied from) the lovely pinterest.

happy-birthday-banner

caution

bday-girl-d

caution-b

Excited for cake time!!

truck-cake-ctruck-cake-d

The spread…..

truck-cake-bacde

orange-kool-aid

It was worth the wait.

truck-cake-e

Balloons and presents in the house.

bday-girl-l

present-a

We love you, Birthday Girl!!  We’re excited to help you enjoy some good adventures and learn new things this year!  ❤

bday-girl-m-resize

bday-girl-e

mama

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

