Sometimes you just have to make it fun

Housekeeping.  With children, is it ever really done?  The answer is, no.  No, it is not.  It’s great if you enjoy it though, because unlike the last mini cheesecake in the fridge, there is always more to be had.  If you’re really that good that you run out of stuff to clean, you can just knock at my door and I’ll generously share our messes with you.

There are some things I feel I am quite endlessly doing.  Picking food off the floor, L-A-U-N-D-R-Y, stacking the shoes, scrubbing bathrooms, and…. sweeping.  If I don’t sweep my kitchen after even ONE meal, it looks like someone handed a two year old a big bowl of food and said, “See if you can get this to cover the entire kitchen.”  Which, is basically what happens, minus the part where I tell her to.

So…. how do I cope with the constant housework?  I make up ridiculous songs about what I’m doing and sing them at the top of my lungs.  It’s very therapeutic.  Try it sometime.

Sweeping, sweeping, sweeping, sweeping,img_7281

Sweep, sweep, sweep, sweep, sweep the floor!

Sweeping, sweeping, sweeping, sweeping,

Sweep, sweep, sweep, sweep, sweep some more!

Sweep, sweep, sweep!

Sweep the floor!

Sweep, sweep, sweep!

Sweep some more!

Sweeping, sweeping, sweeping, sweeping,

Sweep that dirt right out the door!

I should mention, I’m not even passably decent at singing.  I can play the piano, but ask me to sing something and you’ll be running for the door.  That’s the best part about this.  My kids think I’m great.  They love when I make up a new song.  They all watch me in awe and then start singing along, because it’s just that good obviously.  I can finally feel like a real rock star.

Leave a Reply

