Abigail is Four!!!!

mama-a

*Disclaimer:  I know this is long and I did a horrible job narrowing down my picture selection, but it’s my blog and my extremely indecisive self had a really hard time cutting any….. so I guess I’ll do what I want.  Enjoy a million pictures of my favorite four year old!!  heehee

princess

Abigail Joy is four years old!  I’m not really sure where those last four years went, but here we are!  I don’t know what I’d do without my Abby each day.  She still wakes up chattering and asking questions – mostly questions – and doesn’t stop ’till she hits her pillow at night.  She’s getting so big – she weighs 32 pounds now and fits mostly 4T shirts.  She still wears quite a few 3T pants.

running-shirt-brunning-shirt-a

running-shirt-drunning-shirt-c

She’s also very good at reporting everything.  This especially kills me when it’s a situation like the following:

I’m standing literally two feet from Caleb.  Abby is also in the near vicinity and asks, “Daddy, do you have to work tomorrow?”  Caleb answers, “Yes, I do.”  Abby turns to me, “Daddy has to go to work tomorrow.”  Sometimes I’m not even sure how to respond.  Does she want me to respond?  Does she think I somehow didn’t quite get it?  Gotta love it. haha

stripes-a

stripes-b

stripes-c

Abs is our incessantly inquisitive tot.  She wants to know everything about everything.  The girls alternate each Friday for our, “Popcorn Movie Night!” who gets to pick the show.  Sometimes they will choose an old Mr. Rogers off youtube.  I always laugh with Cabz because when I was little I remember sort of zoning out for the informational video parts.  Bored out of my mind.  Abby, on the other hand, LOVES those segments.  She gets all focused and is SO interested to watch how towels are made in factories or how they package and ship off foods to stores.  She will talk about it afterwards and explain it all to me. haha

jammies

Although our pool is currently leaned up against the wall in our garage, the girls used it almost daily when it was warmer out.  This was Abby’s face the first time we filled up the pool for the summer. haha

swim-d

The girls were always running around the backyard in their suits, jumping in the pool to cool off as needed.  They would hop right in with the icy water straight out of the hose, screaming and giggling!

swim-bswim-c

swim-a

park-e

The theme of the later part of summer for Abby was BUGS.  My poor kids want a pet so stinkin’ bad.  (Me too, but we aren’t allowed one in the house we’re currently renting)  They want one so badly, that Abby spent day after day making pets of every bug she could find outside.  Wherever Abby was, there was sure to be a pet bug in a bucket nearby.

pet-c

She would study her bugs and try to figure out what they liked to climb on and eat.  Her bug buckets would often contain sticks, a little water, rocks, leaves, and bits of plants or grass.  They always were given names.  A few of her favorites were, Max, Ruby, Pebbles, and Sam.

pet-h

pets-a

Some of Abby’s common catches were leatherwing (or soldier) beetles, boxelders, caterpillars, black beetles, and stink bugs.  Yes, stink bugs.  I got a little tired of their smell, but Abby would tell me, “I don’t mind it at all!  I just really like bugs!  They’re my favorite pets!”  She enjoyed learning all about her bugs from the internet.  Sometimes we would save up some questions for Daddy to look up when he got home from work.

pet-b

Animals usually like Abby quite a bit.  While Evie is your typical little kid, running arms outstretched and screeching towards animals (as they take off in the other direction), Abby tends to be very gentle, soft, and quiet with them.  Her approach is much more, I’ll sit here and they’ll come to me when they’re ready.  Evie is instantly hands on, while Abs might give a very light pat once in a while.  Kittens and baby goats are so much fun!

pet-f

pet-d

pet-e

Abigail enjoyed every bit of summer!!  Frisbee golf…

frisbee-golf

Flying kites…

kite-flying

Going to parks…

park-gpark-f

Playing on our park at home…

park-apark-c

park-b

park-d

Enjoying the sandbox…

sandbox

sandbox-fun

Running a few one mile races…

race

Our three day, two night, first ever family camping trip (I love her adventurous, outdoor spirit!  She loves what I love!)…

outdoor-adventures

And swinging!!  The park we usually walk to doesn’t have any swings, so we weren’t able to have Abby practice pumping very much.

swing-aswing-b

swing-c

We did hang up a “baby” swing in our yard this year though.  While it isn’t too easy for the girls to pump this one, they did both figure out their own methods of getting it to swing.  Abby would kick off from the wooden edging around our tree area and get herself pretty high!  I was impressed with how much she grew to love our swing, because she has never been much for getting pushed.  In fact, she usually hates it.  She would panic and there were often tears involved.  It must be the feeling of being in control that helps her remain calm and enjoy the ride when she does it herself. haha

swing-e

swing-d

One of her favorite activities, of course, was biking.  That girl biked, and biked, and biked!!  I’m surprised she didn’t wear through her tires! ha  She definitely had a blast with her bicycle.  Daddy got an evening jog/run almost every night during the warm months.

pedal-f

Abs loved riding down our little grass hill onto the driveway.  She biked through summer….

pedal-bpedal-c

pedal-a

And into fall!  It took her awhile to enjoy pedaling through the grass – because it was trickier – but she was getting really into it by October.

pedal-dpedal-e

Once the leaves starting changing color and falling off the trees, the girls both enjoyed bringing their favorites home for Daddy to look up.  They wanted to know all about the different kinds of trees.

leaves-ileaves-h

leaves-j

Abby is always so excited about each new season.  Children are a great reminder that every season has something fun and beautiful to offer.

leaves-a

leaves-c

leaves-b

Abby discovered that she could climb trees this year.  She was SO excited about that – to the point that I felt bad I hadn’t introduced her to it earlier. haha  It just never occurred to me that she would get such a kick out of it!  She liked it best when I would let her climb her tree and eat an apple up there.  LIVING. THE. GOOD. LIFE.  I tell ya….

tree-atree-b

tree-c

These are some of my favorite Abby poses and faces.  Love my big girl soooooooooooooo much!! ❤

pink-apink-b

pink-cpink-d

pink-e

pink-g

pink-f

pink-h

Although Abby had her bang phase and I had to trim them occasionally, I’ve never actually given her a hair cut.  I couldn’t even bring myself to even up the ends.  I’d think I was going to do it and then she’d have a curly hair day.  Seriously, the sweatier and dirtier her hair is, the prettier it looks.  Unfair.  She used to get these gorgeous ringlets all over, but they aren’t as prevalent with the length now.  People used to ask me all the time if I curled it.  Nope.  I still don’t even own any hair tools, other than a brush and comb.  I suppose I will give it a trim eventually.

no-trim-bno-trim-c

no-trim-a

If helping me constantly was possible, this girl would sign up in a heartbeat.  She has always loved “helping” me cook.  The girls also both have so much fun cooking on their toy kitchen set!

little-chef

little-chef-a

Our Abby Joy loves to build with Legos and Duplos.  She enjoys being creative and comes up with the best stuff.  She built a combine, inspired by her ride with uncle, Tim, and a castle, inspired by her birthday party theme this year (She had a princess party, and here’s the post on that!).  She is often building away during everyone’s Quiet Time.

lego-combinelegos

Abs has also been quite the artist lately.  She loves to practice drawing things.  The other day she brought this over and said, “I drew a helicopter.  It’s flying over the sea!”  I thought it was cute.  Also, funny tidbit and classic Abby…. sometimes she will draw a little girl for me and forget the arms.  I’ll say, “Aww, she’s cute!  But where are her arms?”  Abby is quick to reply, “Well, I’m not finished yet!” as she runs off to quickly add a couple arms. haha

helicopter

Quote Time!

“Cuz why??” – Pretty sure she brought this one back from a while ago, but we hear it after almost everything we say currently

“We’re gonna play Membory.  Me and Evie.  That’s OK if she ruins it!” – This was during one of her super obliging, get along perfectly with my sister moods.  I love those moments.  She was referring to the game, Memory.

sister-evie-b

“They must have unblowed that one.” – In reference to some deflated, blow up Halloween decor.  You know the ones.  Nothing screams, HOLIDAY SEASON, like those big blow ups in your front yard. 😉

“Can I stay up early, Mama?” – Why, yes.  Yes you may.  Gotta love it when they mix up word meanings.

main-squeeze

“Cancakes” – Pancakes

“Yittle” – Little

“Wan” – Van

“Witamins” – Vitamins (She has a huge obsession with getting her “witamin” every day.  We literally hear it about it until it’s in her mouth)

“I have to go potty.  I do!  The big sister does.  Not Evie.” – Classic Abby, so much to say so little.

“Sometimes I just don’t want to say dat ‘cuz I’m so gassful!” – (That) refers to “excuse me.”  Sometimes we refer to her flatulence as “gas.”

no-trim-dno-trim-e

I had said something along the lines of, “Hi there, Little Princess!” to Elly.  The next day, Abby was talking to Baby Boy and I heard her say, “Well, hi there, Little King!”  She saw me watching and proceeded to explain that we could call girls queen or princess and boys could be prince or king.

Speaking of royalty, our oldest is the queen of spilling her milk.  We have her apologize and then clean it up herself with napkins.  One meal, she had dumped her milk everywhere as per.  She had been mopping the mess up with her first pile of napkins when Cabz handed her a second pile.  She burst out, “THANK you, Daddy!!”  Turning to me, “Daddy gave me more napkins!  Because mine were soaked!”  I guess it really is all about the little joys.

I ate scrambled eggs at the wrong time during my pregnancy with Elly.  Ever since I have to be in the right mood to enjoy them.  One Saturday morning, Cabz asked the girls if they’d like some scrambled eggs.  Abby’s response, “Mama doesn’t want any, but our daughters do!!”

The girls love when we have enough time on Wal-mart day to look through the Christmas aisles!  The first time we went, Abby and Evie were oohing and ahhing over everything.  Abby saw these decorative bells, scooped one up, and exclaimed, “Look, Mama!!  They even have these….. these… Christmas party hats?” – I love her innovative mind. hahaha

christmas-party-hats

We were driving somewhere and went by some weeping willow trees.  I instantly hear Abby, “Evie, those are weeping pillow trees!  Do you see them?  Those are weeping pillow trees!  I’m ‘splaining to Evie about those weeping pillow trees, Mama!  Do you hear me?  I’m teaching her about them so she knows what they’re called!”  I was sobbing silent laughing tears in the front as she went on and on and on, really TEACHING Evie what those trees were called by golly!!

Abby is constantly trying to teach things to Evie.  One of their favorites…. Abby gets a number or letter book and has Evie repeat the name of each.  “Can you say 14, Evie?”  “Fo-teen!”  “Mama!!  Evie knows really big numbers!  I’m teaching her really big numbers!  Do you hear her??”  Amazing, Abs.  Amazing.

sister-evie-a

And this next one is probably my favorite quote to date.  Prior to Abby’s birthday, we kept telling her, “Don’t turn four!!  You can’t get grow up and leave us!”  She had been responding with things like, “I’ll just live here when I’m grown up.”  (Don’t I wish that sentiment would stay, Sweet One??)  On her birthday, she must have been thinking it over again, because she came over to me and said, “When I grow up I’ll never leave you!!  Never!!  When you go to Aldi Baldis, I’ll go to Aldi Baldis!!  People can’t stay yittle all the time.  I’ll never be that yittle again.  People just keep having birfdays until they die!”  – I love the Alidis reference.  That was the strongest way she could let me know she wasn’t going anywhere. haha  We are definitely grocery shopping buds. ❤

mama-e

We don’t watch movies very often at all, but once in a while we will attempt to let the girls see one.  Finding Dory finally made it to the Redbox, and we thought the girls might enjoy it.  Since our Abby Joy has quite a sensitive little heart, we try to pick low key movies and ones that don’t have overly intense action.  I try to talk through what is happening as we’re watching.  For this movie, I kept reminding her that the ending was going to be happy – that Dory was going to find her parents in the end.  Even so, the tears were flowing.  Every single scene where Dory remembered something from her childhood and the emotional music played, Abby was a puddle.  I asked her if she wanted to stop it or keep watching and she always sobbed that she wanted to keep watching.  Poor little tot. haha  I can totally relate to her pain.  Most people who have watched an action or suspenseful movie with me…. never will again.  I panic, I talk to the characters, I talk, I can’t be quiet, I wish I just knew the ending, I ask if anyone knows the ending….  It’s rough.  As a child, I loved reading the Trixie Belden mystery books, but I don’t think I ever made it through a book without skipping to the end as soon as it got suspenseful to make sure everything turned out okay.  Then, I could go back and read the book in peace.

toots

Speaking of emotional, Abby can escalate quickly over the important things in life.  You know… if she thinks she lost an important Lego piece or one of their bath toys went down the drain.  A while ago, she broke a lamp we had and we ended up throwing it away.  She was pretty upset about it.  A couple weeks ago, the girls’ cd player broke (they use it every night at bedtime and Abby does during her Quiet Time) due to a lot of use.  Abs went into PANIC MODE.  She broke down sobbing, tears streaming everywhere, she raced out of the bedroom, stopped in front of me, and as dramatically as possible cried, “Mama, I BEG YOU!!  I BEG YOU WITH ALL MY LIFE can we please buy a new one????”  Of course we were planning to get another one right away, because the girls do so well with it as part of bedtime routine, but she broke down so fast we didn’t even have a chance to comfort her with that.  I have to say, this was one of those parenting moments where Cabz and I about lost it.  We were holding it back and then made eye contact and laughed just a little.  That obviously didn’t go well.  The good news is, Abby was relieved to find out we would be getting another one very soon.

rabbit-shirt-crabbit-shirt-a

rabbit-shirt-drabbit-shirt-b

Baby Rose is still Abby’s favorite baby doll.  She loves to dress her, change her, take care of her, and mother her.

baby-rose

I just want to give her squeezes all day!

my-baby

pretty-girl-a

pretty-girl

Cuddles in Big Sis’ bed in the morning is the best way to start your day!

sister-elly-e

If I was a younger sister, I would hope my big sister would be like Abby.  She enjoys taking care of her younger siblings so much!

sister-elly-b

sister-elly-c

Holding Elly is still such a treat.

sister-elly-dsister-elly-a

Evie and Abby are becoming better playmates all the time.  There is still a noticeable developmental gap due to age, but they work around it and get some pretty fun games going!  They definitely know how to be goofy together…

sister-evie-c

sister-evie-hugs

sister-evie-huggers

All three of our girls are so wonderful!  Each one is already so unique and precious.  We love them all dearly!

sisters-on-the-couch

mamas-girls

I love Abby’s eyes.  They’re so pretty!

those-eyes

Abby has so many nicknames. haha  We call her Abigail, Abby, Abby Joy, Abs, Pumpkin, Pumpkin Pie, Pumpernickel, Big Sis, Biggin, Sweet Pea, Sweet Cheeks, and probably some more I’m forgetting at the moment!  The other day she decided she would like us to call her, “Pomegranate” sometimes too. ha

pumpkin-shirts-a

pumpkin-shirts-b

pumpkin-shirts-c

pumpkin-shirt

Oh ya, we also tell her she is Trouble #1.  Followed by our other children, Trouble #2, Trouble #3, and Trouble #4. haha

joy

Goofy Girl.

silly-girlmama-f

Abs always whips her socks off so she can “Check for fuzzies!!”  She’s very OCD about getting those lint fuzzies out of her toes.

sittin-asittin-b

Oh, my little barefoot baby!  Slow down a little for me, please. ❤

biggin

I had never asked Abby to “show me your muscles” before, so I thought I’d try it.  Here’s what I got.  No idea where she learned this. ha

muscles

Rockin’ her side ponytail and being a goof.

sideways-pony-b

sideways-pony-c

sideways-pony-d

sideways-pony-a

I think my babies are so cute when they’re all bundled up in their winter gear!

winter-baby

In stark contrast a couple months ago….. when you’re too cool for the heat, until Mama laughs at you.

two-cool-for-school

two-cool

Turning into such a big girl. *sigh*

leaves-fleaves-g

leaves-eleaves-d

We love you, Abby Joy!!  We pray you will grow up loving Jesus and loving others!  You are so special to us and such a beautiful part of our family.  I thank God for you all the time and can never be grateful enough for you!

daddy-and-abigailmama-c

mama-d

sunset

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

